Aaj English TV

Wednesday, April 17, 2024  
09 Shawwal 1445  

ECP notifies Gandapur as member of KP assembly

Gandapur is the party's candidate for CM
File photo
File photo

The Election Commission of Pakistan has issued a notification declaring Ali Amin Gandapur as winner for Dera Ismail Khan’s seat in the provincial assembly on Sunday.

Gandapur, a former provincial minister, is Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s candidate for the post of chief minister Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, the party’s main stronghold.

According to form 47 issued by the ECP, Gandapur had won from DI Khan’s NA-44 with 93443 votes. He had also won from PK-113 with 35,454 votes.

He had won both seats as an independent candidate as the bat symbol had been denied to the party by the ECP.

Meanwhile, the ECP had issued notifications for 36 out of 44 constituencies in KP where elections were held for the national assembly. Notifications have also been issued for 92 out of 115 provincial assembly seats.

However, the notification for Gandapur was originally witheld, only to be issued late on Sunday night.

He has still not been notified as a member of the National Assembly.

According to rules, independent candidates are allowed to join a party within three days of their victory being notified by the ECP.

For the latest news, follow us on Twitter @Aaj_Urdu. We are also on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.


Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Ali Amin Gandapur

election 2024

Comments are closed on this story.



Taboola ads will show in this div