Aaj English TV

Saturday, March 02, 2024  
20 Shaban 1445  

Potential PTI ally MWM wins NA-37 seat

MWM's leader had recently met Imran Khan in jail
Photo via MWM
Photo via MWM

A candidate belonging to the Majlis-e-Wahdat-ul-Muslimeen was declared the victor in Kurram’s NA-37 on Friday.

Hamid Khan was declared the winner after getting 58,650 votes as per the Form-47 issued by the Election Commission. Sajid Hussain Turi of Pakistan Peoples Party stood second with 54,384 votes.

The MWM victory could be significant as it was one of the parties mentioned in connection with a ‘Plan-C’ by the PTI.

Reports had claimed in January that PTI-backed independent candidates could end up joining another party in the National Assembly which would allow them to be organised and receive reserved seats.

Read: Could PTI’s plan C involve joining another party?

On February 6, a mere two days before elections were held across the country, MWM leader Allama Raja Nasir met Imran Khan in Adiala Jail as well.

PTI-backed indenpendents have emerged as the largest group in the National Assembly after the general elections.

For the latest news, follow us on Twitter @Aaj_Urdu. We are also on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.


election 2024

Majlis e Wahdat ul Muslimeen

Comments are closed on this story.



Taboola ads will show in this div