Aaj English TV

Friday, April 12, 2024  
03 Shawwal 1445  

UK expands travel authorisation scheme to more countries

By year, it will apply to all foreigners who don’t need visa to enter UK

The United Kingdom has expanded its electronic travel authorisation (ETA) scheme to citizens of Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Oman, Kuwait, Bahrain, and Jordan, Visa Guide reported.

The initiative would come into effect from February 22, 2024. It would allow them to make unlimited visits to the UK for periods of more than two years or until their passport expires, whichever comes first.

The ETA scheme replaces electronic visa waivers, and by the end of the year, it will apply to all foreigners who are exempted from having a visa to enter the country.

Also, read this

UK, Japan to issue more visas

Australia introduces permanent resident visa for nationals of these countries

The application fee for the ETA is £10, a lower amount compared to the previous charges, where nationals of Gulf countries paid £30, and nationals of Jordan paid £115 for a single-use visitor visa.

ETA is part of the government’s efforts to transform and digitise the border and immigration system.

For the latest news, follow us on Twitter @Aaj_Urdu. We are also on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.

United Kingdom




Comments are closed on this story.



Taboola ads will show in this div