Aaj English TV

Saturday, March 02, 2024  
20 Shaban 1445  

Iran allows visa-free entry to nationals of several countries including KSA, UAE

As many as 28 countries added to the visa exemption list
Photo - AFP/File
Photo - AFP/File

Iran has allowed visa-free entry to nationals from 28 countries in an attempt to boost its tourism industry, VisaGuide reported.

Starting from February 5, the visa waiver applies only to those tourists arriving in the country by air while there are no provisions for those entering the country through land border crossings.

According to the report, the policy revision is aimed at facilitating tourism and improving international relations.

In this regard, the country has already allowed visa-free entry to citizens from Türkiye, Azerbaijan, Oman, China, Armenia, Lebanon, and Syria.

In December last year, Iran announced lifting visa requirements for citizens from 33 nations, marking a shift in international relations, particularly with Gulf countries like Saudi Arabia. This decision, reported by the Iranian Students News Agency (ISNA), effectively expands the list to 45 countries or territories where citizens can journey to Iran without a visa.

It is pertinent to mention that Iran extended the visa exemption to citizens from Saudi Arabia, the UAE, Qatar, and Bahrain after a recent diplomatic warming between Iran and Saudi Arabia.

Other countries that would benefit from visa exemption include:

  • Kuwait
  • Uzbekistan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Tunisia
  • Tanzania
  • Mauritania
  • Zimbabwe
  • Mauritius
  • Seychelles
  • Japan
  • Indonesia
  • Singapore
  • Cuba
  • Vietnam
  • Cambodia
  • Brunei
  • Brazil
  • Mexico
  • Peru
  • Croatia
  • Serbia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Belarus
  • India

Meanwhile, Argentina, South Africa, Indonesia, Jordan, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Estonia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Ecuador, Algeria, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Belarus, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Paraguay, Peru, Tanzania, Tajikistan, Thailand, and Turkmenistan are potential countries to be added to the tourist visa exemption list.

For the latest news, follow us on Twitter @Aaj_Urdu. We are also on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.




visit visa

visa free entry

Comments are closed on this story.



Taboola ads will show in this div